PDA

View Full Version : I need a good wireless router/modem where I can control individual bandwidth

Brian Ashton
03-27-2013, 8:55 AM
I need a wireless router/modem that I can control individual connected computers with. I need to throttle back some of the heavy users in my house and possibly limit when they can get on... Any suggestions.

Khalid Nazim
03-27-2013, 9:22 AM
Asus has one of the best WiFi Dual band routers around. I have just recently installed one and it does all that you need and more. The model that I bought is ASUS-RT-N66U.

Regards
Khalid

Larry Browning
03-27-2013, 11:05 AM
I believe the one mentioned by Khalid can run DD-WRT firmware which I believe has the ability to do what you want. (it can do just about anything possible with a router) However, I have no experience setting one up that way. There are many routers which can run this firmware, so maybe your existing router can do what you want by simply upgrading it's firmware to DD-WRT. I was able to turn an old router I had laying around into a wireless access point for the shop simply by upgrading the firmware to DD-WRT. Also you might be better off searching through a router specific forum to find what all you options might be. Keep us posted as to what you find out.

paul cottingham
03-27-2013, 12:38 PM
Second thumbs up for DD-WRT. I've used it to revive otherwise useless routers. It is super flexible, and should do everything you mention.

Khalid Nazim
03-27-2013, 2:37 PM
I have used DD-WRT in the past on a Linksys Router. It was the best arrangement to revive an old WiFi router. However, the Asus Router is the one to have with the eye towards the future. Its interface is very easy to understand and configuration is a simple activity. You can create Access Control Lists, time limits, bandwidth limits, guest networks, VPNs and remote access and even connect external hard drives that you can access from anywhere on the internet.

Larry Browning
03-27-2013, 3:52 PM