PDA

View Full Version : Lost in the shavings

Brian Kent
03-26-2013, 11:04 AM
My spur drive that is. I'll probably find it during spring cleaning, but if not, what is the best deal on a spur drive? Are the wood River spur drives OK? I'll go for the best some other time. Now I am just trying to be functional until the original shows up.

(Delta 46-460, #2 Taper)

jared herbert
03-26-2013, 11:12 AM
I came up missing a tool rest one time, it was one I made and it worked well. I had previously cleaned up all the shavings etc from the floor. I am a farmer so was using the tractor and loader to put the shavings in and then I drove out into a bean field [it was in the winter] to dump and scatter the shavings. About a year later I was out for a walk and came across the rest. It was ok except a little rust which I cleaned up. So you still may find it. good luck. Jared

Roger Chandler
03-26-2013, 11:17 AM
The wood river spur drive is fine.....they are the same unit that CSUSA sells as their apprentice line, and PSI sells.......I would go through the pile of shavings before I would order one.......of course that is just me! :rolleyes::D

Reed Gray
03-26-2013, 11:18 AM
The magnetic base on my Moffatt lamps are great for fishing out metal pieces in the shavings. Of course, you have to know you dropped them first.

robo hippy

Brian Kent
03-26-2013, 11:25 AM
Yes, I am still looking. And it could be in the scoops of shavings that are on the lawn or have been discarded.

Dan Forman
03-26-2013, 11:51 AM
I love my Apprentice spur drive, much better holding than the one that came with my lathe, might be worth buying even if you do find the other one. Looks just like the WR.

Dan

Jamie Donaldson
03-26-2013, 12:30 PM
If its on the lawn your mower will find it!

Lee Koepke
03-26-2013, 12:38 PM
I turned an ice cream scoop last night for the first time, dropped the bushing and took 40 minutes to find it. One positive, at least half of my turning area is now clean!

Fred Belknap