PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of buying an Epilog Mini 24--potential safety or environmental issues?

Steve Lambert
03-26-2013, 10:05 AM
Hi all. I work for a public school district and we're exploring the idea of getting an Epilog Mini 24 for engraving all our schools' assets. Mainly we're concerned about keeping all the portable devices (iPads, netbooks and laptops mainly) from 'going missing'. Engraving a big logo and name on the case might act as a deterrent (we hope). We have priced having the engraving done by the manufacturers but over a few year's time it'll end up being quite a bit less expensive if we do it ourselves (plus we'd have more control over what we're putting on these units, such as sequential asset numbers or barcodes etc.)
Since I'm totally new to the whole world of lasers I was asked to do some research about this and make a recommendation...I was wondering if anyone had any input they'd be willing to give on a couple of points that have been raised by the bosses:
1) If we put this machine on a workbench or stand on our loading dock, will there be any problems having temperature changes while the machine's in operation? We don't ship or receive all that much freight but I'd say 5-10 times daily one or two of the dock doors will be open for a few minutes, and while the dock's heated and air conditioned we're wondering if sudden temp. or humidity changes might cause problems when these doors go up or down. Fogging optics? Or is a typical laser sensitive enough to the environment that it'll be damaged or stop working if the temp changes by 10-15 degrees fairly rapidly? We're located in the midwest and we have the classic four seasons here (too cold, too hot, one nice day in between going each way).