PDA

View Full Version : setting cut thickness on hand planes

Bernie LeBlanc
03-21-2013, 10:45 PM
I looked a few pages back and It's probably already discussed - but how do you set the blade height on your hand planes? I'm sure there are lots of methods and most are correct. We all have our methods and I for 1, am sure that there are probably better ways then my method. I'm a self taught woodworker for the most part and I'm still learning.

I've always assumed that if I set my blade 1/16 of an inch, I'll get a 1/16th inch thick. I've also heard the expression of achieving paper thick cuts, (the perfect cut) so when setting the hand plane thickness, I place my hand plane on a piece of paper with the blade overhanging the paper. I let the blade rest on the bench top and secure it. If I need a more aggressive cut, I use 2 pieces of paper.

This works for me - what works best for you?

Archie England
03-21-2013, 10:51 PM
I sight down the nose of the plane and turn the brass knob until a bare glint of blade emerges. I then test that projection to see how well it whisps away a shaving. For finishing, its got to be super thin; for coarse work, it could be much thicker. I usually back off on the knob just a bit in order to produce thinner shavings. If heavier shavings are desired, I run out the blade a tad more. Be sure not to run your fingers down against the newly protruding blade. I've heard you can get a nasty cut that way :).

Gary Hodgin
03-21-2013, 11:12 PM
I follow the same siting down the sole as Archie, but when I see the blade extended through the sole I back of just enough for the blade to disappear. I then take a scrap piece and try to take a shaving. I keep adjusting until I get the shaving I want.