PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to replicate this?

Brie -Anne Bryan
03-20-2013, 10:28 AM
257622257623I have a customer who is wanting this silver piece replicated for a shifter knob. I am wondering if any of you think it is possible to engrave it out of a piece of wood (or perhaps a better material?) and then paint silver. I've never done anything like this before. I don't usually work with wood but I'm always ready and willing for a challenge! Any thoughts?
Thanks!

Rodne Gold
03-20-2013, 10:57 AM
You could replicate it *in a fashion* , but will struggle or it will be impossible for the laser to give you the rounded contours of the cougar. Even 3d engraving wont cut it unless you prepared to do some hand finishing. You certainly can get a 1 dimensional cougar standing proud of a hatched type background. Could use many materials and paint it silver..acrylic, wood , formica , delrin etc.

Neil Pabia
03-20-2013, 11:30 AM
I would suggest making a negative of it and then pouring colored resin into the negative to create the insert.

Dan Hintz
03-20-2013, 11:50 AM
I would suggest making a negative of it and then pouring colored resin into the negative to create the insert.

This would be my suggestion, as well. Silver paint just isn't "silver", but a cast will get you a very close approximation if you choose the fill correctly. You could also create a plaster cast and make it out of a low-melting point metal, like pewter.

A 3D cut from a pantograph is another option, but not many people have those...

Mike Null
03-20-2013, 12:04 PM
Looking at your equipment I think I'd try sandcarving it from a piece of pewter. You'll need a good mask for the cougar but it could work. A cnc machine would make short work of it.

If you choose to sandblast I would use a medium of 80 to 120 grit and be artistic instead of trying to hog it all out quickly.

Brie -Anne Bryan
03-20-2013, 1:04 PM
Is casting resin a relatively easy thing to do? I've never tried it before.