PDA

View Full Version : Can any saber saw really cut a true vertical line?

Sam Murdoch
03-18-2013, 5:17 PM
I have been using a Bosch 1587AVS
257462for many years now - usually with the Bosch T101B blades. I throw in a new blade every time I need to make an important cut. No matter the condition of the blade or the softness or hardness of the wood I can never seem to get a true vertical cut in stock thicker than 1/2". I have the option of adjusting the attack angle of the blade and I know as much as one can know that my plate is at a right angle to the blade, but it is a crap shoot how the cut will come out no matter what setting or blade I use. I might be the source of the problem sometime but I am a trained professional :rolleyes:- I can't be so off every time - can I? :confused:

This Bosch is the best I have ever used in this regard but I'm asking if I really have to accept bad cuts as the nature of this tool or are some newer models more accurate? I think of course of the Festools or even a 2013 version of the Makita or Bosch models. Does any one have some real world experience? Thanks for opinions.

Peter Quinn
03-18-2013, 5:33 PM
The new ones with the improved blade guide work better. I have the 1587 at home and use the 1590 at work, the 1590 is a lot better. Metabo and festool make versions with good blade guides too. Feed speed and pressure are important to, if you don't let the blade do the cutting things go wonky quickly, I know this because I'm a notorious over feeder. Just like a bs, the correct blade for the material is important too. Too many teeth for the thickness will cause the blade to follow the grain on rip cuts, most saber saw cuts involve at least some rip cutting.

But in honesty, IME , they are not really super precise cutting instruments like a guided track saw or router and template can be.

John McClanahan
03-18-2013, 5:34 PM
I'm waiting for others to answer first.

John

John Bailey
03-18-2013, 5:43 PM