PDA

View Full Version : Your experience if you ditched your jointer

Larry Fox
03-18-2013, 11:33 AM
I recently upgraded from a Unisaw to a small Euro Slider (SCMI SI12) and am starting to get the feel of it and all the things you can do with a slider - including making that initial straight edge on a flat board. This makes me wonder if I still need my jointer. I am not an expert with a #7 hand plane or scrub plane but am pretty handy with them and can see myself being able to get a passably flat face on a board and would likely get better over time. I currently have a DJ-20 8" jointer and am contemplating sticking it in the corner for a while to see how I would make out without it and thought that I would solicit the input of those who have gone down this road to see if you miss it. To be clear, I am not morally opposed to using a power tool to do the work, just wondering if I can get by without it or if am going to sink the ship if I sell it.

I realize I am asking you if I will miss my jointer which you can't possibly answer because you don't know anything about how I work but, again, just looking for some opinions.

Thanks in advance for your time.

John Lanciani
03-18-2013, 11:40 AM
Best thing to do is just unplug it and see how long it takes for you to plug it back in. If it ends up covered with cobwebs send it down the road then.

Andrew Joiner
03-18-2013, 12:41 PM
I recently upgraded from a Unisaw to a small Euro Slider (SCMI SI12) and am starting to get the feel of it and all the things you can do with a slider - including making that initial straight edge on a flat board. This makes me wonder if I still need my jointer. I am not an expert with a #7 hand plane or scrub plane but am pretty handy with them and can see myself being able to get a passably flat face on a board and would likely get better over time.