PDA

View Full Version : Another DC ducting question....

Jim O'Dell
05-08-2005, 7:42 PM
Hi all! I hope everyone had a good weekend. After I got to a quiting spot today in the shop, I just sat there with my floor plans and started looking at some of the next steps I would be doing, that is if I can ever get the doors built for the shop! I spent a little time looking at where the DC lines will run, and this question came to mind. What is better, myltiple 22 1/2 degree elbows with some straight pipe between , 45 degree elbows, or bending the S&D pipe to a smooth but gentle curve? I have access to a heat gun, and I've read that filling the pipe with sand will help keep it from collapsing, and help hold the heat for the bending process. But which option is better for the cyclone? TIA for your thoughts. Jim

Steve Cox
05-08-2005, 8:14 PM
I'm not an engineer but.....:rolleyes: . Probably the bent pipe would be best from an air flow point as long as they are long radii. That way, you eliminate the turbulence from multiple joints as you put in 45 and 22.5 degree elbows. After that 22.5 is probably best but good luck trying to fit them in everywhere. I went with 45s and straight pieces in between and it has worked fine for me. BTW, be careful if you go the heat gun route. The fumes are extremely poisonous from what I've read. Good ventilation and a vapor respirator.

Allan Johanson
05-08-2005, 10:17 PM
If you have a Dust Gorilla or stronger and only have a couple bends on a run, and if your goal is around 800cfm at the tools, I wouldn't even bother with the 45s if the run is decent. Slap on a short radius elbow and don't worry.

Going to 45s with a piece of pipe between them will help increase airflow, but probably not by enough for the vast majority of folks to care. And I doubt if you could reliably measure the difference between 45s with straight pipe and a homemade long radius elbow.