PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on cutting a small log

Glen Blanchard
03-15-2013, 9:16 AM
Yesterday I acquired a few locally harvested logs. Most of these range in diameter from 6" to 8" and approx. 8" in length. I would like to be able to turn some vessels out of some of these, bowls out of the others. Here is where I need some input.

If I were to cut them into blanks, removing the pith, there would not be much to work with. Can I turn these in such a way as to leave the pith on the foot without the piece cracking to the extent that it becomes firewood? If so, can I merely anchorseal the ends of these logs until I am ready to turn them (whenever that might be)? This will be my first experience using something other than store bought blanks so I could use some guidance.

Thanks.

Glenn Samuels
03-15-2013, 9:34 AM
Hi Glenn,

I am also a novice and this is what I did (for better or worse). Once I rec'd the logs, I coated both ends with Anchorseal. Then, as I cut a log in half, I coated all exposed areas with the Anchorseal. This way, I can wait as long as I'd like before roughing out the log and hopefully the checking will be minimal. I am anxous to hear if this is a correct method.

Michael Mills
03-15-2013, 9:57 AM
If they were longer you can often keep them losing only a few inches at each end; for these you are starting with 8” length to begin with. I would split through the pith and coat the ends with anchorseal. I do not coat the cut side other than about an inch down from the ends.
You will be able to turn bowls up to probably seven inches wide, smaller vessels about 3.5 diameter or boxes in the 2-2.5 range.
Someone else probably has other ideas or knows procedures to turn vessels with the pith and stop the pith from splitting.
I've never been able to do it.

Thom Sturgill
03-15-2013, 10:59 AM