PDA

View Full Version : Strong and stable wood for a cremation urn?

Brian Kent
03-11-2013, 5:02 PM
I have done a lot of work recently with green or difficult woods lately, and I need to get my head back into strong and stable wood.

As a pastor, I helped with a memorial service for a 35 year-old dad named Tim, about 14 years ago. Since then his son has grown up, married and had a child, named "Timmy" after grandpa. The 8 month old child died suddenly of a virus called "RSV". I had never heard of it before.

We are making funeral preparations and I want to offer to make an urn, if they choose cremation over burial. So that is the sad background to my question.

What are some very stable woods that I could use? I want to leave it about 1/4 to 3/8" thick so that it will never break. I can either get a blank from Rockler or kiln dried wood from Reel Lumber. Reel has 16/4 Cherry, Poplar, Hard Maple, Genuine Mahogany and Walnut. Otherwise I could glue up other stock to make it big enough.

Thanks for your help.

Brian

Leo Van Der Loo
03-11-2013, 7:06 PM
{kiln dried wood from Reel Lumber. Reel has 16/4 Cherry, Poplar, Hard Maple, Genuine Mahogany and Walnut. Otherwise I could glue up other stock to make it big enough.}

Brian, al these kiln dried woods are stable, if you keep the walls `3/8" or better it should stand all abuse it might be subject to.

And sorry to hear of the child's sudden passing.

Dale Gillaspy
03-11-2013, 7:12 PM
I'm not a big fan of glue-ups unless it is very intentionally done that way, such as segmenting. I agree....all the woods lusted above. Any Maple, would look great. Turn it big enough for interior dimension of 1 cubic inch per pound of body weight when the boy was alive.

curtis rosche
03-11-2013, 8:18 PM