PDA

View Full Version : Substitute EZ-Smart for TS?

Jon Toebbe
05-08-2005, 9:12 AM
First things first: an introduction. What's the hackneyed old phrase on radio? "Long-time listener, first-time caller..." I've been lurking here for the last several months, searching the archives and generally being nosy ever since I got bit by the woodworking bug. I'm generally pretty "handy" around the house, but would like to start making furniture.

In any event, here's my dilemma: at present, my "shop" is a 12 ft square deck, and a Workmate. The LOML and I will be moving across the country in a month or two, but before then I've got a few projects to knock out. The next house will have a proper shop, but for right now I've got to break down some 4ft x 8ft sheets of plywood and miter some dimensional lumber. I know I'll need a decent "saw board" to rip the plywood, and have had my eye on Eurekazone's Smart Guide for some time.

The problem is this: I'm a high school science teacher and my wife is finishing grad school -- our budget for tools is... limited. Moreover, we're moving in 2 months, so anything I buy will have to survive the gentle ministrations of the movers. Since I've already got a PC circular saw, and any benchtop table saw is unlikely to satisfy for the long haul, the EZ-Smart seems like the obvious winner.

However, if I get the Smart Guide, that plus the inevitable expenses of relocating will mean I won't be able to get a TS for some time after the move. It'll just be me, a GCCS and a router with the following project list:

Workbench - laminated MDF top, storage below
Router Table - Nahm's, or similar
Shop Cabinets - "fancy" (for me) in order to build skills
Bookcases - probably plywood with simple, contemporary face frames, though LOML does like Arts & Crafts

Do I really need a TS at all to start out? Thanks for your help and advice!

Cheers,
Jon

Ken Fitzgerald
05-08-2005, 9:39 AM
Jon first.....Welcome to the Creek!