PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Woodworking Glues

Brett Bobo
03-07-2013, 11:28 AM
Which woodworking glue do you use the majority of the time for typical interior furniture projects and why? I've been using Titebond III exclusively for several years now, not only for the waterproof capability as a "just in case" but also for the longer open time as compared to TBI and TBII. It also gives me the latitude of using it for an occasional outdoor project as well.

Thanks,
Brett

Bill Huber
03-07-2013, 11:35 AM
I use Titebond III for everything.
I like it because I can use it outside or inside, it is strong and I don't have to keep different glues on the shelf.

Brett Robson
03-07-2013, 11:38 AM
Whatever Titebond I happen to have around for internal/unfinished joints. Liquid hide for anything that shows because it won't mess up your finish.

I don't build exterior stuff so no comment there.

David Weaver
03-07-2013, 11:39 AM
Liquid hide glue when temperature allows. Some sort of PVA when it doesn't.

John Bailey
03-07-2013, 11:39 AM
I tend to use epoxy for every thing, although I don't do furniture. Most projects I work on are water related -- boats, paddles, etc. -- and I've found it works well for just about every thing.

Peter Quinn
03-07-2013, 12:09 PM
I use titebond III for almost everything. It has less creep than type 1, lower operating temperature helps in my cold shop, I like it for things like cutting boards that might get wet, good for out door work. I use about a gallon of glue per year, I prefer to buy my glue by the gallon, lots of my work could be handled with type one, but its easier just having one glue for everything. One exception is interior projects non cutting boards in light colored stain grade wood, for that I buy a small container of type one to suit he occasion.

Mike Henderson
03-07-2013, 12:14 PM