PDA

View Full Version : Robust American Beauty vs. Powermatic 3520B

Glen Blanchard
03-07-2013, 10:13 AM
Although I am not new to woodworking, I have been a lathe owner for only 9 months or so. I have always enjoyed making decorative boxes and wanted the ability to throw on a finial every once in a while. I bought a Delta 46-460 for this purpose. Since then I have done absolutely no flatwork!! If I'm in the shop, I'm turning. This has gotten me thinking about an eventual upgrade (which probably wont happen anytime soon, but I like to plan ahead). Now I am not a professional and never will be, but I am a serious hobbyist. I'll probably never turn massive bowls or vessels, but I don't want any regrets with my next lathe.

I went to SWAT last year and looked at the Robust line and really like the American Beauty. Who wouldn't?! It certainly has an impressive price tag though. The current Powermatic sale got me to look at the 3520B more than I ever have before. Dang, that thing would be like half the cost of the AB. I like the seemingly better access to the headstock end that the AB has and also the movable controls. I also really like the ability to swing the tailstock out of the way (optional). I don't know that I would ever use the greater swing of the AB however. I like the digital readout of the 3520B, and of course the price. The AB is the better of the two lathes, but the 3520B is a better value.

So here's my question, and I realize I will ultimately have to answer this for myself. That being said, I think I'd enjoy hearing the opinion of others. In spite of the fact that it sure is purty, why would I want to spend another $3,500+ (approx) for the AB?

Fred Belknap
03-07-2013, 10:31 AM