PDA

View Full Version : Tool Cabinet

Dennis McDonaugh
05-07-2005, 12:22 AM
I took a few pictures of a tool cabinet I've been working on for over two years. Its a low priority for LOML so I only work on it between "paying" jobs :D .

Its Honduran Mahogany and curly maple veneered over poplar drawer fronts. I'm still not done with it--I have to finish the large drawer front, crown moulding and lots of details for inside tool storage. Its basically two cabinets sitting on a frame supported by the hand dovetailed feet. You can see a little of the drawer storage details from the pictures.

Matt Meiser
05-07-2005, 12:34 AM
Holy cow! That's an awesome tool cabinet!

Martin Shupe
05-07-2005, 12:37 AM
WOW!

Very nice, almost too nice for a tool cabinet.

What kind of finish did you use to pop the grain on the maple?

Outstanding workmanship!

Alan Turner
05-07-2005, 5:03 AM
Dennis,
Great piece of work. But, I have a question. Don't you find it a bit inconvenient to have to go to the dining room to grab a file or chisel?

Mark Blumer
05-07-2005, 6:37 AM
Dennis,

That is a wonderful piece of work!! I have a question. Are you using commercial sliced veneer or are you thin-sawing your own? One of the close-up photos seems to suggest that the veneer is thicker than commercial stuff.

Mark Blumer (East Lansing, MI)

Richard Gillespie
05-07-2005, 6:40 AM
Beautiful job. Love the contrasting colors.

John Hart
05-07-2005, 7:14 AM
Wow Dennis! Sure wouldn't want to put it in MY shop! I would hate to get it dirty. That thing belongs in a showroom.

Terry Hatfield
05-07-2005, 7:35 AM
Dennis,

Excellent job!!!! The cabinet is beautiful!!!

t

Dave Anderson NH
05-07-2005, 8:13 AM
That's a beautiful piece of work Dennis. I like the combination of curly Maple and the Mahogany, but then I'm very biased toward both of those woods anyway. Are you going to show us how the lower cabinet is laid out?

Dennis McDonaugh
05-07-2005, 10:52 AM
Dennis,