PDA

View Full Version : Problem setting up rail & stile bits.

ken masoumi
03-05-2013, 5:41 PM
Actually the bits I'm using is "glass door bit set",similar to the Freud bits:
http://freudtools.com/p-118-recoverable-bead-glass-door-bit-sets.aspx
I have tear out on the rails, The stile cuts were done first may be that's why I have tear out on the cope cuts.
This is my first time setting up rail & stile bits,my next move is the following:

1) cut the coped sides before the stile cuts.
2)use wider stock for rails then cut them to size.
3)use backer block to minimize tear-out.
Any other suggestions? tips or tricks?please let me know .
Any help is appreciated.
Ken.

Erik Christensen
03-05-2013, 5:46 PM
i have always used a fresh backer block on my coping sled and have not had any tearout with that setup

Jeff Monson
03-05-2013, 7:07 PM
Its tough to not get tearout when you do the stile 1st. I have used a coping sled with a backer that has the cope profile cut into the backer, this way your rail cut will fit into the profile of the backer, leaving no room for tearout. Hope I explained this right.

Curt Harms
03-06-2013, 7:08 AM
I've done what Jeff does, profiled backer. I've wondered if it'd be wise to cut copes into wide stock then rip the rails out and work the second edge. If I could get 3 rails out of one board that'd be one rail in three that even had a chance of tear-out. Otherwise yeah, cut the rails a little over width and rip off any tearout.

George Bokros
03-06-2013, 7:33 AM
You should do the cope cuts first with a backer board. I do so and do not have tearout.

George

Rick Alexander
03-06-2013, 9:02 AM
I've done what Jeff does, profiled backer. I've wondered if it'd be wise to cut copes into wide stock then rip the rails out and work the second edge. If I could get 3 rails out of one board that'd be one rail in three that even had a chance of tear-out. Otherwise yeah, cut the rails a little over width and rip off any tearout.