PDA

View Full Version : Newbe seeking chuck advise

art pfenn
03-04-2013, 8:37 AM
I just bought a new lathe and now I'm in the market for a chuck. I'm new at turning so I look to the experts for advise. I have been looking at three brands and models within brands but can't figure out which I should get. I would like to make bowls, vessels and boxes, the usual stuff I guess. So what would you recommend and why? I've looked at the Oneway Stronghold and Talon models, the Vicmarc VM100 and the VM120 and the Robert Sorby Patriot. If there is something else that I should consider chime in, thanks.

Grant Wilkinson
03-04-2013, 8:39 AM
What is your lathe? I use Oneway Stronghold chucks, but the Stronghold may be more than you need.

John Keeton
03-04-2013, 8:43 AM
I am not familiar with the Sorby, but the other two are fine chucks. There is a Grizzly clone for the Vicmarc VM100 that gets rave reviews by many and is one to consider. I have Nova SuperNova 2 chucks, and really like the dovetail jaws vs. the serrated jaws of the Oneway, but that is a personal thing.

The Nova's can be purchased reconditioned, and on sale, usually for considerably less than the Oneway and Vicmarc.

Whatever you do, buy one brand and stick with it so the jaws and chuck keys will be consistent. Nothing worse than having multiple incompatible jaws/keys to keep up with!

Alan Trout
03-04-2013, 9:21 AM
Art,