PDA

View Full Version : Freezer suggestions?

Erin Stringer
05-05-2005, 9:19 PM
LOML and I are looking for a freezer to put in the basement and store mass quantities of meat and other foods. I have no experience with these so I'm looking for "expert" tips, suggestions, or stories. I don't think we need anything too large but we want more than a "dorm size" unit.

As always, thanks in advance.

Erin

Jim DeLaney
05-05-2005, 9:36 PM
You didn't say how many people are in your family. In my case, there's just the wife and I, and we get along very nicely with a little 12 ft³ chest type freezer. Initial cost was about $200, as I recall. our current unit is about ten years old.

Over the years, we've had both chest and upright type freezers, and have come to much prefer the chest type. Advantages are that: 1. the cold air stays in when you open the lid, so there's less cold loss, making it cheaper to operate; and 2. the upright we had tended to leak around the door seal, again making it less efficient.

YMMV...

Matt Meiser
05-05-2005, 9:45 PM
We have had the smallest size Fridgidaire chest freezer for about 5 years now. It stays cold, so it does its job. For a family of three its borderline small. We buy large packages of meat to save money and that wrks well. Upright freezers are more user-friendly, but less energy efficient from whst I've heard.

Rob Russell
05-05-2005, 9:48 PM
We have 1 of each type - a chest my wife and I bought years ago + an upright we inherited from her parents when they moved out of their house a couple of years ago. My experience with the 2 is that it's easier to lose things in the chest because they get buried. The upright actually stays colder than our chest freezer. The upright is easier to find things in. And no - we don't need to freezers. I've been after my wife for months to empty 1 out.

John Hart
05-05-2005, 9:51 PM