PDA

View Full Version : Not fine furniture, but...

Roy Lindberry
02-25-2013, 8:55 PM
My latest project was a gate for my driveway. It's been on the list, and I was hoping to wait until better weather in the late Spring, but it had gotten so bad, something needed to be done right away. The old gate was probably 20 years old (my grandpa built it back when he first bought the property) and it started falling apart.

As a carpenter, I'm ashamed that it got so bad. The rope was a temporary measure while I built the new gate, since the old cable had rusted through and snapped off, causing the weight of the gate to collapse.

So, here is my new gate with a new design. My wife loves it.

Everything is mortise and tenon and bridle joints. All joints are pegged with 3/4" dowels. You can probably tell from the photos, but it is just lumberyard tight knot cedar 2x6 and 2x4. I tried to make it not only sturdier than the old design, but also lighter weight. I also gave it multiple coats of BLO. This is a mostly neanderthal project, as I used a cordless drill to bore the holes for the pegs and the table saw to rip the long boards.

And here is a shot of the bridle joint on which I attempted to use Paul Seller's poor man's router with little success. But I got it done. Any comments, questions, and criticisms are welcome.

Gary Hodgin
02-25-2013, 9:28 PM
Nice gate.

We have a small privacy fence with 2 gates in the backyard. I've replaced one of the gates once and the other twice. They look good for a while then start sagging. They're pretty heavy. The fence is made from 8 ft wide 6 ft tall sections of treated pine (Lowe's as I recall). The gates are 4 ft sections and I can't seem to get hinges to hold very long.

Jim Matthews
02-26-2013, 10:00 AM
I like the way the top spar is tapered, that's clever.

Isn't it nifty that the Sellers' methods get things done?
I couldn't have conceived some of the things that are easy with a chisel and marking knife.