PDA

View Full Version : Incra Jig Questions-Any Experts?

Chris Jackson
02-25-2013, 5:37 AM
Recently acquired a Router Table, with a Dewalt Router, a standard fence, and the Incra Jig shown in the photos. Got a great deal on CraigsList at $350 for the whole lot, whith a box full of 1/2" shank bits and Incra Jig parts to boot!

I have no experience with INCRA Jig equipment. I was able to locate a manual online for an "Incra Jig Pro", which seems to be the correct model of this equipment these were made up until a couple of years ago. The manual only seems to cover the large positioner device, with no detail on the fence, crosscut jig or this other chunk of metal that I have been as yet unable to identify. So, here is where I need some help:

In the second photo is a close up of a Incra Jig part I am unfamiliar with and there was no info on the Incra website that I could find. Anyone know what this is? What it does? Is there a manual for its use and installation?
Is there a better source for Older Incra Jig Manuals than the Incra Website?
The "Incra Jig Pro" manual that I downloaded covers some basic installation and operation however, does not really get into "methods of work", that is to say what types of jointery does the unit excel at, what different setups/configurations are common, etc... Does anyone know of a good book or articles on use of this make/model of jig?
I have never used one of these Incra Jigs, I've always just used a standard fence...which I still have...on an opinionated note, is this thing worth the hassle? I've seen that they sell for some good money, wondering if I should trade it toward something I need more and stick with a good old fence.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris

William C Rogers
02-25-2013, 7:30 AM
Chris