PDA

View Full Version : Can I cover up my mistakes?

Tom Porter
02-22-2013, 9:00 PM
I'm pretty new to woodworking and my work shows it. I'm making a storage shelf out of 3/4 plywood, using pocket holes and biscuit joints. Maybe not the best approach but I'm trying to learn different techniques. Anyway, I had trouble lining up the biscuits slots perfectly, which is how I joined the internal upright sections. As a result, the uprights (or whatever they should be called) do not line up perfectly. It's not horrible but certainly noticeable. OK, maybe it's closer to horrible than I would like to admit. Since it is plywood, I had planned all along to put a face frame on it. I'm wondering if I make the frame slightly wider the the plywood, could I hide these problems or would it make the problem more noticeable or worse? If I try this, would I be better off with a face frame only a little wider than the plywood (say an inch) or significantly wider (like 2 inches wide)?

There's probably a bunch of other things I did wrong but I'll worry about one thing at a time.

For some reason, when I attached the picture below, it comes up rotated 90 degrees.

HANK METZ
02-22-2013, 9:26 PM
If you’re talking about the way it sweeps out near the top, if you hadn’t stated it was an error, I’d’ve thought it was a design feature. Go with it man, sometimes the project will tell you what it wants to be, think about a simple edgeband, not a face frame- celebrate the implied movement.

- Beachside Hank
Improvise, adapt, overcome; the essence of true craftsmanship.

Darius Ferlas
02-22-2013, 9:30 PM
Edge banding can be sometimes tricky.
If the edge is 3/4" and the tape is 7/8" there is not much room for keeping the curve, and curving the edge band won't really work. Wider band would be required.

I don't mean to be cruel, but the only way I would try to fix it is by salvaging as much material as possible and start again.

Rich Switzer
02-22-2013, 10:02 PM