PDA

View Full Version : Making Michael Fortune (LV?) Inlay Stringing tools

Chris Griggs
02-18-2013, 7:04 AM
There’s an article in the latest fine woodworking showing the inlay tools Michael Fortune uses and how to make them. It’s an interesting design and looks pretty simple to make. Also, interesting is the cutter seems to be the same/or similar idea to the LV inlay tools (the pics are ones I ran a across using a google search... no way to post the pics from the article).

254683 254684 254685

I have couple of the little inexpensive LV template stringing tools (http://www.leevalley.com/US/Wood/page.aspx?p=69875&cat=1,43314,69873) that I’ve been messing with for a few months (still need to try on a project though). I’ve kinda been wanting a wider one to fit some premade stringing I have and thought I might give it a go in an piece of saw plate. This article seems to be the ticket. Has anyone tried to make stringing tools like this? If so how did they work? (…the little LV tools work very well and like I said these appear to by the same concept to I assume they work similarly). Any thoughts or tips on making these?

Also, Rob if you happen read this I’d be curious to know if these are the same? Is this an old/common design? Was Mr. Fortune involved in the design of yours? Just curious….its a interesting alternative to the saw tooth design of Latta/LN.

Derek Cohen
02-18-2013, 10:32 AM
I’ve kinda been wanting a wider one to fit some premade stringing I have ..

Hi Chris

If you want a wider line, have you seen the Inlay Cutter Head for the LV router plane? I purchased one when I was in Canada recently, but not used it as yet (soon) ..

http://www.leevalley.com/US/images/item/Woodworking/MarkMeasure/05p3845s02.jpg

Regards from Perth

Derek

Chris Fournier
02-18-2013, 10:37 AM