PDA

View Full Version : Simple Slider Modification

Chris Fournier
02-17-2013, 12:08 PM
There have been several threads about sliders lately and of course much of the talk is about our struggles to get used to the silder - the new opportunities and obstacles that it presents to the atrpohied table saw synapses in our heads.

One of my initial struggles was coming to terms with the slider and it's propensity to, well, slide. As a newb I thought that I should be able to lock the slider down in its stroke anywhere I wanted, and it would stay there. I found that I wanted the slider in certain spots for different operations and the habit of the slider locking forward but not backwards was really annoying when I was ripping and pulling the ripping back would also pull back the slider back usually into my groin. I wanted a TS experience for certain rips and the slider needed to be locked. (For the record I like ripping on a TS and never felt unsafe doing so but I did feel that it was very fast and efficient so I want to simulate this on my slider too.)

Attached are two photos of a simple delrin stop that I made which is movable. In the position that I have shown in photo 1 you can see that it is at the end of the slider stroke almost - the width from the end is the width of the lever lock at the end of the slider. This position also corresponds with the front lever locking position at the front of the sliding table. Set the front lever and you have effectively locked the table from any fore and aft movement. Photo 2 is the slider locked as described. This has really helped me out and alos prevents the "lean on the slider and end up on the floor" slapstick move that shop guests like to do.

For some other operations where I like the slider locked somewhere "mid-stroke" I have simply left threaded blocks in the guide rail and I can fasten locks from above where ever I like.