PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to Veneer: Hammer - vs- Cold Press/Contact

Stew Hagerty
02-15-2013, 1:43 PM
OK, I have been woodworking for several years now, but I've never tried my hand at veneering. I have some projects in mind that I think veneer would be great for but I was wondering about the various methods. Originally I figured that I'd probably use some sort of contact or cold press adhesive and press them using heavy sheets of MDF & cauls. But, I just watched a DVR'd episode of Uncle Roy's with Steve Latta on Hammer Veneering and it looked very interesting. It also looked like a lot of fun. Not to mention that Steve made it look fairly easy. Now before you say it, No I'm not that much of a "newbie" that I honestly thing it IS that easy.

So here's my question. I have some very attractive figured veneer pieces that I've picked up (Yes, I know Steve said Hammer Veneering works best with thicker resawn material) that I would like to use for box tops, accents, and such. I also have some really nice exotic & figured woods that I can resaw myself that I may like to use as well. Hammer veneering does require some investment in tools (and we all hate buying new tools so much) such as a Hammer and a Glue Pot while the other kind doesn't require much unless I wanted to get a vacuum press setup but that investment doesn't bother me as long as I use the tools. What I really want to know are advantages and disadvantages of each method, as well as the learning curves involved. A would also appreciate and general advise you may have gained through experience.

David Weaver
02-15-2013, 1:47 PM
The learning curve for one of the expensive vacuum press systems was essentially zero. A friend of mine bought one when I needed to veneer a 1/8th thick cherry veneer to a ply substrate a few years ago. (he didn't buy it for me, he bought it and I had a use for it).

Extremely expensive per use for him (he hasn't used it since), but it worked out well for me.

Zach Dillinger