PDA

View Full Version : Cincinnati - Getting your own lumber milled?

Matthew Cresci
02-14-2013, 12:02 PM
254337254338Hello. I am new to the site and have been finding a lot of useful information. I am pretty new to woodwork and lucked into some free ( what I believe is ) birds eye maple. The tree was cut down a few days ago. The tree has been dead for a number of years. Picked up the wood this morning. I basically have cross cut sections of the trunk approximately 2 ft in diameter and around 8" thick. I am wondering if any local saw mills would cut each piece into 3 pieces cross cut. I am interested in making table tops out of them. I have seen other posts for lumber mills within an hour of me so I know their names but I don't know if they will cut pices of wood like this that aren't purchased from the mill. I also have no idea how much cuts like this would cost so I am interested in that as well. I have a chainsaw that will cut through the entire trunk but I don't want to lose the amount of wood that a chainsaw would take. I would also have to rig a system up to hold the wood steady as well as the chainsaw. Any help or other ideas would be much appreciated.

Ted Calver
02-14-2013, 12:49 PM
Matthew,