PDA

View Full Version : David vs. Can of Poly.

David Eisan
05-07-2003, 11:02 PM
Evening All,

Has anyone ever had this problem?,

http://members.rogers.com/moreweb/images/polycan.jpg

I pried and I pried and it don't open no how!

So, I got a little medieval on it...

David.

Jason Roehl
05-07-2003, 11:43 PM
Actually, yes, David, I have had that problem numerous times, since I am a painter by trade. Despite the widespread belief to the contrary, the tool you have pictured for opening that can is NOT THE CORRECT ONE. I have on my keyring a combination paint can opener/closer (I never use the closer part on paint cans, but it works well for opening beer bottles :D :cool: ). I believe I got it at a Sherwin-Williams.

Anyway, the opening part is essentially a flat piece of metal (looks to be not quite 1/16" thick, 3" long) with the end curved up about an 1/8" at about a 1/16" radius. This does much better than a screwdriver because it hooks the lip of the lid without unrolling it like a screwdriver does. Technique is important too--work it up just a little all around the can and the lid will pop open--don't "swing for the fences" on each pry.

Although your method looked like it might be a little bit of stress relief...:D

Charles McKinley
05-07-2003, 11:58 PM
Wait till you try to get the ring off that Mason jar!;)

Brute force and ignorance may not be the prettiest nor most efficient, but usually effective!

Daniel Rabinovitz
05-08-2003, 12:17 PM
Ok David - loses a turn and goes back to wood shop 1
First day of class
Present empty paint can to class.
Have each student
1. punch one hole in the valley of the top of the can with a 6 penny nail (2" or so).
2. Replace lid of can with "closer stick". NEVER A HAMMER OR MALLET! You'll get paint or varnish on you from the splatter.
Place lid on can;
Push down on 1" square (or there abouts) stick of wood (longer than can lid and comfortable to place both hands on ends of stick).
Seating lid into valley of can.