PDA

View Full Version : dovetail upper divider into table leg?

BradD Strong
02-11-2013, 11:07 PM
Hey all, I'll freely admit I'm a novice to woodworking, but excited about my second 'big' project. I'm going to make a 48inch wide console table out of cherry, and want to put a couple of shallow drawers in the front. The techniques I've read involve making a dovetail mortise type joint to attach the upper divider to the front legs. As seen in this article: http://www.finewoodworking.com/membership/FWNPDF/011130040.pdf

Question: How do you cut the dovetail 'mortise' into the top of the leg? I'm more comfortable with power tools so far, but can't envision how to use a router to do this. Thought about a good sized dovetail bit on my router table, laying the leg down, but this would leave a rounded bottom. Thought about a small diameter pattern bit and an overlying template on top of the leg, but that would still leave rounded corners.

Chiseling it out in endgrain seems challenging to me. I can just imagine major splitting down my expensive 8/4 cherry leg.

Recommendations? Thanks for being patient with the newbie question...

Brad

Andrew Hughes
02-11-2013, 11:34 PM
First cut tail on stretcher with handsaw.Then transfer tail location on to top of leg with sharp pencil or knife.Cut on waste side of line with handsaw as far as you can without showing the saw cut.Then remove waste with your favorite chisel.
There is a bit more to it then this but you can do it practice on some scrap first.

Joe Leigh
02-12-2013, 7:09 AM
One trick is to cut a shallow rabbet on the underside of the divider tails. This makes marking the pins a bit easier. Then I use a forstner bit to drill out some of the pin waste and finish paring with a sharp chisel.

Dave Richards
02-12-2013, 8:08 AM
If you really wanted to use a router to do this, you could.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8380/8467092207_cb1b24abc3_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/8294157@N08/8467092207/)