PDA

View Full Version : Minimax shaper

mreza Salav
02-09-2013, 5:51 PM
I have a shaper (identical to Grizzly 3HP model) that I restored and have been looking for a power feeder for it (have not had nor used a shaper before).
There is a Minimax T50 that is for sale with a 4-wheel General Int. feeder that is 3-4 thousand km's away from me.
From the pictures (below) it looks complete and in good shape but I'm thinking by the time I get it to my place it would be a very expensive machine.
I am not a pro but I like the setup and since I might be building entry door/kitchen cabinets in a year or two for our house I am thinking of getting it.
I have a minimax machine and know their quality but don't know much about this particular machine. What's a reasonable price for a set up like this
in this shape?

MiniMax T50 shaper, 4.8 HP, 220 volt, single phase.
Tilting spindle head.
1.25" and .75" spindles.
Sliding table.
Pull out extension supports on left and right ends.
Cross cut fence with miter gauge and clamp.
Tenon plate and tenon hood.
Side extension table.
Original tool set.
Original manuals.
General 1 HP, 220 volt, single phase, four wheel power feeder.

J.R. Rutter
02-09-2013, 6:13 PM
$3500? I bought / sold some T40N shapers for <$2000 ea, which is my only frame of reference. Above $3500, you can get into a T110 that will be heavier.

David Kumm
02-09-2013, 6:29 PM
Maybe Erik will chime in. I think the T50 was a little lighter than the Felder 700. Looks to be in great shape as most hobby shapers are. In US I would guess 3-4K, maybe a touch more to someone who wants single phase as there aren't many options out there. The extra spindle, tenoning plate and hood add about 500 and the feeder 400-500 so you might stretch it a little to 4500. Lots of three phase machines are available at that range but then Felder is the only real competition in the single phase world. Dave

Erik Loza
02-09-2013, 6:50 PM
Mreza, what's the seller asking for it, out of curiosity?

Erik Loza