PDA

View Full Version : Oh boy......

Russell Svenningsen
05-03-2005, 12:40 PM
I should preface the story I am about to relate with the fact that I am a professor of music at the university here in Marshall, and it's nearly the end of the term. Finals are approaching, concerts are happening, recitals, etc. things are getting a bit higgledy-piggledy...

So last night I was working in my shop. I thought I'd make a couple of winding sticks with some walnut and maple I had on the lumber rack. I had the stereo playing louder than usual as I had just gotten a new recording of some Mahler orchestral songs, and I proceeded to cut the walnut to size and fired up my jointer to face-joint it, etc. As I was working, I began to see little chips fly out of the table of the jointer, a sure sign that my DC hook-up was clogged......again. I have been having problems on and off with the dust hood on my Delta 22-580 planer, but this was the first I'd had trouble with my jointer. I removed the hose and cleared the offending clog. I continued jointing the walnut.

It clogged...........again. I turned off the jointer.

Now I am quite frustrated(read: By "frustrated", I mean I am now talking to myself, cursing the DC, the jointer, the weather, anything I can). I walk to the stereo, turn it off. No good having it play if I can't concentrate. It's then that I notice it.

What is "it", you ask?

No humming of the DC motor. I hadn't turned it on.

To the best of my knowledge, not turning on the DC in the first place is a sure-fire way to get a clog in your machine, am I right?

Good heavens, I felt stupid.

Let me know I am not alone. What is the silliest thing you've done in the shop that did not result in an injury?

Best,
Russell

Bill Lewis
05-03-2005, 12:51 PM
You are not alone.