PDA

View Full Version : Lighting lay out, adequate or like an ER?

Charlie Watson
02-05-2013, 3:34 PM
So using the lighting write up which was very helpful I did a lighting layout for my shop. The latest iteration incorporates a Combo machine (either MM, Hammer or Felder, just have to see who wants my business the most) and I utilized the lighting guidelines in the write up (at least I think, I did). I'm over 50 so looking for lighting levels closer to 100 FC. As In the example in the write up, the fixtures are 8' strips with (4) four foot tubes each (12 fixtures total). Seems like a lot of light to me but every one of my shops had poor lighting so I'm far from an expert on the subject. What do you guys think adequate or more like an emergency room and I should scale back? The overall area for the shop is 720 SqFt but I consider the area to be illuminated (adjusting for the DC, water heater, full height shelving etc) closer to 650 SqFt. Thanks for your thoughts!

Joe Angrisani
02-05-2013, 5:34 PM
How high are the ceilings?

(Assuming T8s and 8-10' ceilings,) I think you'll find it's a good amount of light once you add some things like additional task lighting at the workbench. One thing I'll suggest is to break them into 3 or 4 circuits so you can turn on lower amounts of light when you don't need "the ER". And not necessarily all in line on one switch. If the switches control some staggered lights in the room, it lets you "bring the lights up" as you need them.

Bruce Page
02-05-2013, 6:16 PM
IMO, you can't have too much light, especially as you get older. I have 8 4-bulb fixtures in my 520 SqFt garage shop with an 8’ ceiling, plus task lighting on several machines and bench.

Charlie Watson
02-05-2013, 9:24 PM
I have 8' ceilings and good to hear you guys agree. Great idea on the 3 circuits too!

Randy Rizzo
02-05-2013, 10:06 PM