PDA

View Full Version : Basic table saw questions - Grizzly

Mark W Pugh
02-01-2013, 7:24 AM
May be in the market for a new table saw. I currently have an old contractor Craftsman. Lot’s of problems that I am tired of dealing with. I’m a hobbyist and have read through, what seems like thousands, of reviews. I know that there is never one saw that pleases all.

So, I have it narrowed down to the Grizzly G0691 or the G1023RLX, I think. A couple of questions.

Riving knife. Never had one, never used one. Can they be used with thin kerf blades? Are they adjusted to parallel the cutting edge facing the fence, or is it just center mass of the blade kerf?

T-slot miter gauge. Is there much slop in the fit?

Fence. On this thread, http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?147080-My-G1023RL-review/page2&p=1500209&highlight=g1023rl (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?147080-My-G1023RL-review/page2&p=1500209&highlight=g1023rl), there seems to be a discussion that there is no way to adjust the fence to parallel the blade. This can’t be true, is it?

I’m sure there will be more questions. Thanks for any replies.

John Donofrio
02-01-2013, 7:43 AM
Hi Mark,

I just went through that table saw debate last spring. I went with the Grizzly G0690, the same one as the G0691 except for the table extension. You would be happy with it, trust me.

On to your questions.

The riving knife is there to prevent the workpiece from closing up around the back of the blade and thereby causing a kickback. The delivered riving knife cannot be used with a thin kerf blade but you could easily have one made that would work. Unless you are trying to conserve material, though, there is no reason. The saw has plenty of power.