PDA

View Full Version : Is this antique multi-plane worth restration attempt?

Kesh Ikuma
01-30-2013, 12:09 PM
I just saw this posted on my (close-to) local CL:

Antique Multi-Plane $30
neworleans.craigslist.org/tls/3581942319.html

It looks to be in a poor condition, lots of rust. The multi-plane mechanism seems a lot more complex (a lot more parts) than single-purpose hand plane. Could it be restored to withstand real woodworking usage? What should I look for to make judgement?

I've never done any restoration work before, so I'd appreciate any inputs!

Matt Radtke
01-30-2013, 12:24 PM
Isn't that a Miller's Patent plane? I'd buy it if only to put it on a shelf or resell to a collector. If it actually can be made to work, I'd probably use it. Though I'd confirm any collectable value first.

David Weaver
01-30-2013, 12:25 PM
miller patent plow (I think, I'm not collector) with some unrelated stuff. That said, I'd buy it for that money, clean the rust off of it and see what I had. You could probably sell the router plane irons for close to $30, 9 times out of 10, the old stanley router planes arrive for sale with one iron and it never hurts to have a couple.

If the miller body cleaned up nice, I'm sure you could get a few bucks for it on ebay.It's in pretty tough shape, but you're not going to lose money on that deal in the long run.

Jim Koepke
01-30-2013, 12:32 PM
Kesh,

There are a lot of parts in there that are not from that plane. Some of those parts would likely clean up well and be useable or sellable for more than your original investment.

If it were local to me, my wife would be buttered up to allow me to jump on this.

On the other side, the plane is mostly an early plow plane in sad shape. It could likely be sold on ebay for parts with a buy it now that would bring more than the $30 being asked.

The fence alone might bring more than that.