PDA

View Full Version : Easy project suggestions for Beginner?

Eoin Ryans
01-27-2013, 10:08 AM
Hi All,

I am new to woodworking and would like to know if anybody has any suggestions on items to build that would be relatively easy or a good learning for a beginner?

It would be great if these items were useful pieces such as small pieces of furniture or other useful household items. One item I have thought of is a tile surrounded by a wooden frame used in the kitchen to protect surfaces from hot pans ( I cannot think of the correct name of this at the moment!)

Any other ideas?

Thanks

Kevin Guarnotta
01-27-2013, 10:12 AM
a trivet.

That is a good item to start with. I'm not sure the best thing to start with-the way I got into woodworking is through necessity. What do you need around the house? Bookcase, small table? Then again, what could your shop use? I use my shop as a sort of practice zone to practice building things, where I don't care as much about the finish quality as much as I care about learning new techniques. (By finish quality, I mean I don't care about the grade of wood or if the wood is scratched). One other suggestion - don't obsess about gettingit perfect, at least until you have been working for a while.

Chris Kennedy
01-27-2013, 10:14 AM
What you are thinking of is a trivet, and they make for a good intro project. One of my first projects was to make a tile-top table.

Depending on what equipment you have:

Cutting boards
Candle holders
Bed-side tables
Adirondack chairs (these can be quite fancy or quite rudimentary -- I made rudimentary ones first and plan to make nicer ones in the future).

Cheers,

Chris

scott spencer
01-27-2013, 1:22 PM