PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol drying - Input?

alex grams
01-26-2013, 2:41 PM
I am trying drying with alcohol (12-24 hour soak, then wrap bottom around lip, and sit upside down on a shelf) however I am still getting some (what I hope is) surface checking.

The wood is red oak, about 11" diameter, turned to 1/2-5/8" thickness.

Is the surface checking expected? I am new to alcohol drying, so this is a learning experience. I have read several articles and writeups on drying this way, but want to know if what I am seeing is normal, or a sign I am doing something wrong. They are kept in my garage to dry (north texas, temperatures are pretty moderated in the garage (60-75 degrees). The checking is notice on about the 3rd-4th day of drying.

Thanks in advance.

While I am pretty new to turning, here are a few pics of my 6th and 7th bowls Ive turned (larger is elm, smaller is ambrosia maple) 6" and about 4" in height, and 6 and 4" in diameter, respectively.

http://i613.photobucket.com/albums/tt220/alexgrams/Turning081.jpg

http://i613.photobucket.com/albums/tt220/alexgrams/Turning075.jpg

Wally Wenzel
01-26-2013, 3:15 PM
Alex, Try leaving them in the bath a little longer, i leave mine a little longer like 48 to 72hrs some times even longer if i forget them and it dosen't to bother it at all.
Wally

Morey St. Denis
01-26-2013, 4:58 PM
Nice looking 6th & 7th! That's some richly hued spalting in that elm bowl, appears to have a lot of similarity to box elder (aka ash-leafed maple). Regarding the reported problems with larger more recent oak turnings, you may be taking them too close to finished dimension in the green state. For an 11" diameter green wood turning, you likely shouldn't go under 1" minimum wall thickness. Following immersion and a long soak in DNA, suggest you continue your usual drying regime, then mount and re-turn to finish.

Steve Schlumpf
01-26-2013, 5:11 PM
Alex - you are doing some really nice work there! Keep it up!