PDA

View Full Version : RAS cuting practices

Nicolae Sipitca
01-23-2013, 10:09 AM
I just got my hands on an antique Craftsman RAS (103 series, about 80years old). It's in good working condition and i cleaned it a little too. will have to put on a new table top as the original one (yes, original, ....) is warped.
I've never used a RAS before and though i read the manual and what I could find on the net I am still a little confused:
I see it is being pulled towards the operator to perform a cut, and, since the blade is climb cutting, even with a negative rake blade it will theoretically pose some safety issues. would it not be more advisable to perform the cut in the other direction (pushing the saw into the workpiece, like on a SCMS)? Would this practice pose some other safety issues?
Also, does anybody use one of these to cut tennons? If so, what kind of jig do you guys use?
Thank YOU!!!
Nick.

Joe Scharle
01-23-2013, 10:38 AM
It's always a source of great fun to watch someone push a RAS; from a safe distance of course! :cool:

Just like any other power tool, it's safetest to PUSH the wood into the cutter or PUSH the cutter into the wood. A RAS is cutting the kerf on the PULL stroke.
If you've ever had a router run away in a climb cut, you should be able to visualize what a 10-12" blade powered by a bigger induction motor would look like.

As for cutting tenons, all I ever use is a stop block.
Good luck and always be careful...

Nicolae Sipitca
01-23-2013, 10:48 AM
it's actually a 9in RAS, will most probably receive a 8 1/4 or 8 1/2 in blade.
Should I deduct that pushing the blade into the work is an unsafe / unacceptable practice?

John Lifer
01-23-2013, 11:04 AM
Uh, YES! The saw will PULL the wood into the fence. Forget the climbing worry. Great crosscut saw. I'm still leary of ripping....

Myk Rian
01-23-2013, 11:28 AM
You pull the blade into the cut. Period.
The negative tooth blade is used for just this reason. So it won't climb on you.