PDA

View Full Version : resawing by hand...saw to use?

Brian Matthews
05-07-2003, 12:45 AM
Howdy all, glad to have found this forum.

I am just starting out and am planning to build a few frame/bow saws. Can anyone offer some advice on design?

In particular I am not sure the best way to secure handles to the frame where the blade is held on each side. I was planning to hacksaw a kerf into the end of a 3/8" bolt (after cutting off the head) and drilling a small hole to cross-pin the blade. My problem is I am unsure of how to work in the handles.

I have found a few plans while surfin', but most are not real clear on that detail.

I'll kepp you posted if I figure anything out, might just start buildin' it and we'll see what happens.

Happy sawing,
Brian

Andrew Fairbank
05-07-2003, 5:23 AM
Hi Brian,

These should get you started:

bow saw
http://www.geocities.com/plybench/bowsaw.html

frame saw: http://www.hyperkitten.com/woodworking/frame_saw.php3

Depending opon your needs, you could be looking for a frame saw as opposed to a bow saw. Detail in websites.

Cheers,

Andrew

Sparky Paessler
05-07-2003, 11:16 AM
Brian

Here is a picture of a hand resaw that I downloaded from the net a while back. Sorry I don't remember where I got it from but it was on a page with a very interesting vice that I was thinking about building. Maybe it will give you some ideas.

Noah Alkinburgh
06-03-2003, 4:21 PM
So this makes me curious, especially that picture from sparky, how does on resaw by hand? Is the saw expensive? Difficult to build? Been pining on a band saw for awhile but low on the cash flow. Hand tools aren't always cheaper though, but can be a quite a bit more fun and satisfying. Any info on this subject "wood" be greatly appreciated

Noah

Brian Matthews
06-15-2003, 4:10 PM
Noah,