PDA

View Full Version : Beginner questions on finish options

Steve Foster
01-22-2013, 12:57 PM
I am new to this forum and this is my first post. In advance, thanks to anyone to reads and responds to my request.

I am a beginner and have just finished construction of three mantle clocks for my children, one white oak, one figured maple, and one walnut. I have been sanding and preparing the surface for a finish all along, but always assumed I would do the same thing to all three clocks. After reading in this forum for a while, I quickly realized that this was not a good idea! So, with the understanding that I will try out these finishes on scrap before proceeding, I would solicit your knowledgable feedback, tips and suggestions before proceeding. :)

Here is what I am thinking now:

On the figured maple, start with a water based dye to bring out the figuring, followed by clear shellac, then water based poly (probably semi-gloss).

On the white oak, start with amber shellac until I like the color, then the water based poly.

On the walnut, start with linseed oil, then the clear shellac, then the water based poly.

I think I could pull this off with a good chance of success. However, please give me your tips, tricks and suggestions, as I don't want to ruin all this work with a bad finish.

Thanks in advance,

Jim Rimmer
01-22-2013, 1:15 PM
Welcome to the Creek. There are several finishing experts here that will give you some really good advice. I will only say two things:

1. Make sure you take your test pieces through the same finishing process you would on the final project - sanding, finish, etc.
2. Personally I would skip the final poly coat. Shellac is a good finish and clocks are not subject wear that other projects are.

Scott Holmes
01-22-2013, 11:56 PM
Jim's advice is sound.