PDA

View Full Version : Router Solutions....

Michael McAllister
01-22-2013, 9:20 AM
Hey Guys,

Be easy on me as i am new to woodworking forums and a relatively new wood hobbyist. I enjoy building things and one day in the future hope to build furniture and cabinets out of my shop. With that said i am in the market for a router and table. I have read many consumer reviews on several different variations and models, but am still weary, i only want to purchase this once, i have many tools already and understand the importance of quality tools,especially when it comes to woodworking. I have been looking at systems like the Jessum master lift,festool cmc and so on, i don't necessarily have to have something that extravagent but am lucky enough in my life right now where i could have.. Is all that stuff necessary in order to build quality furniture? Like i said i only want to buy it once,at least for the forseeable future anyways. just looking for a quality product and who would know better right? Any help will be appreciated.

-Mike

Prashun Patel
01-22-2013, 9:33 AM
A router lift is not necessary for fine furniture. However, having used one for the past 6 months - after not having one for 5 years, I can tell you it makes life a lot easier.

If you are an 'advanced beginner' then a good project might be to build yourself a solid router table and cabinet. This will save you some $$ and give you a chance to develop some skills. It's a straightforward and valuable project.

Then you can buy a good lift and router, pop it in the table and be good to go for a good long while.

Personally, I'd start with a good 1.75hp router like the Porter Cable or Bosch. The PC is the Toyota Camry of routers. It's a safe bet. Eventually, you might like a 3hp router, or a trim router, but these can come later. Just make sure your lift is not uniquely sized to the router you choose; the newer models are universal.