PDA

View Full Version : Veneer over Linseed Oil plywood

Alex Pearl
01-21-2013, 11:37 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm trying this question in this forum. I posted in the finishing section, so I am hoping for a broader audience here.

My thanks in advance for any advice. I'm new to woodworking and have learned a lot about it in making my first set of bookshelves. I am finally at the finishing stage and I thought I had everything going well. The bookshelves are made of birch plywood. I purchased the Tried and True Linseed Oil finish to use on them. In the process of sanding the tops smooth (with a very fine grit) and then applying a thin coat of the Tried and True, it is clear that I have sanded the plywood top down to far. Now, instead of the top being a very light birch color, there are orange-ish and green-ish splotches or spots all over. I assume this is where the plywood top is too thin and so the plywood core is showing through. Anyway, its ugly.

I cannot remove and remake the top. I see two options.

(A) Attempt to dye or stain the wood to cover up the plywood core from showing through.

(B) Purchase veneer and use it to cover the sanded through plywood. I do not have a vacuum press. So, I can use either (1) Pressure sensitive adhesive backed veneer or (2) use Heat Lock glue (which I have done before with great success).

The first question is, which is a better option A or B?

The second question is, what type of dye/stain should I look for and will it take with the linseed oil already on there.

The third question is, if I go with the veneer, do I need to heavily sand the top (because of the linseed oil) before I try to veneer over it with Heat Lock glue or the PSA veneer?

Any help or advice would be great. I'm ready to be done with this project, so the quickest way to finish is ideal...

Thanks,
Alex

david brum
01-22-2013, 9:37 AM