PDA

View Full Version : what corded drill to buy for newbie?

Finnian Dawson
01-20-2013, 6:11 PM
I'm new to woodworking and am looking to buy a suitable plug in drill that will last me. I will use it for occasional masonary work too. It will also be used in a small vertical drill press adaptor.

would you recommend a 2 speed mechanical gearbox for variable torque, or should an adequately powered single gear be enough?

I would like to spend $150 max but will stretch higher if needs be.

thanks
Finnian

david brum
01-20-2013, 6:45 PM
$150 will get you a lot of drill for most purposes. The problem (I think) is that a drill which will actually work for masonry will be pretty big, and may not fit well into an adapter. Drills which work for masonry are called roto hammers. They work splendidly for drilling into cement, but they are big and heavy. Regular drills work for metal and wood, but won't make much of a dent in concrete. They are much smaller, like what most of us are used to. In between is a hammer drill, which sort of works in concrete and works fine in metal and wood. They vary in size from regular size to quite large. You can easily find one of these in your price range. I doubt that you will find many bad corded drills, since this is long proven technology. Having said that, brands like Milwaukee, Makita and Dewalt are pro level drills which should take more punishment than consumer level stuff, like Craftsman and Ryobi.

A dual speed switch is nice when you need extra torque.

HANK METZ
01-20-2013, 6:51 PM
Not cracking wise here with my answer but used tools are downright cheap on Craigslist. For a tyro just starting to equip himself this'd be the best bang for the buck. I see opportunity for a Milwaukee or similar quality corded drill, a 5- speed bench-top drill press and a cordless drill/ driver all well within the limits of that budget.

- Beachside Hank
Improvise, adapt, overcome; the essence of true craftsmanship.

phil harold
01-20-2013, 7:01 PM