PDA

View Full Version : Help me spend $800-1000 on hand tools

Jared Walters
01-17-2013, 12:17 AM
I'm actually a beginner. For years now I have been interested in furniture making, and now I allocated some money to get started. I have crazy noise restriction, so I can only use hand tools. This is fine because its what really interests me anyway.

So what tools should I buy to get started with my $800-1000. I only want excellent quality tools, even if that means just buying a few at first and adding some more every couple paychecks.

From what I gathered I need some good measuring tools and good chisels. I know top quality planes are expensive, so is there any exceptionally versatile one I could buy that would be adequate as my only one? I already have a basic workbench, but no vise. Unfortunately that is all I have, so I need everything you can think of haha.

I look forward to advice from experienced woodworkers. Please be specific, I'm overwhelmed.

Charles McKinley
01-17-2013, 1:26 AM
I would start at the Library. There are threads here that give list of books to look for. The second thing I would do is go to a couple of classes where you get to try out some different tools.

Going new and high quality it comes down to what fits you hands better and what you want to do. Excellent quality does not have to mean new. A new egg beater drill is much more expensive than a good vintage Stanley or Miller Falls and the quality will not be necessarily higher. As Chris recommends use a reputable dealer until you have a better idea of what you are looking for.

What type of furniture do you want to build?

I received "The Anarchist Tool Chest" book and DVD by Chris Schwartz from Lost Art Press. There are some other books that describe the tools and how to use them.

Do you know how to sharpen?

I really can't emphasize enough how important it is to actually use some of the tools and make a decision on what you like and works for you.