PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw foot brake - Is it worth the extra money?

Larry Browning
01-16-2013, 10:33 AM
I have pretty much decided on the Grizzly G0513X2 as my next big purchase. I did notice that for an extra $150 I can get it with a foot brake. I am a hobbyist and speed and efficiency are not very high on feature want list. So what are the other advantages a bandsaw foot brake that would make me want to get this feature?

Prashun Patel
01-16-2013, 10:37 AM
Larry, I have the 514X2, and it has a foot brake. I do appreciate it. If I'm making different cuts that require resetting the fence or cleaning off the table, it's nice to be able to quickly stop the blade. If I did not have the brake, I would probably be tempted to mess with the table and fence while the blade was spinning down. That's certainly doable, but knowing myself, the foot brake means a little more safety for the lazy (read, me).

Ken Fitzgerald
01-16-2013, 10:42 AM
Larry,

My MM-16 has a foot brake and I use it regularly because I can activate it without taking my eyes off my hands or moving my hands.

Jeff Duncan
01-16-2013, 10:44 AM
I also like having brakes on machines when I can. However the decision on value is a personal one based on preference. I will say I think they're more important on some machines than others and on a bandsaw in a one man shop doing occasional work....certainly not a necessity......IMHO;)

good luck,
JeffD

Larry Browning
01-16-2013, 10:47 AM
My only experience with a bandsaw is my dad's old shopsmith attachment saw. It stops spinning in only a 3-4 seconds without a stop feature. How long does it take on a real saw to stop?

Jamie Buxton
01-16-2013, 10:53 AM
My only experience with a bandsaw is my dad's old shopsmith attachment saw. It stops spinning in only a 3-4 seconds without a stop feature. How long does it take on a real saw to stop?