PDA

View Full Version : Question about power distribution

Mike Henderson
01-15-2013, 9:10 PM
Being an electrical engineer, I look at power lines. One thing I don't understand is that often on the high voltage lines, there as some devices hanging below the lines, on both sides of an insulator. Take a look at the following two pictures, the first which gives an overall view, and the second which is an enlarged section of the first picture to highlight those devices.

My question - perhaps to someone who works for a power company - is, "What the heck are those devices? And what do they do?"

Mike

Jim Becker
01-15-2013, 9:26 PM
I cannot see clearly the specific device in your photo because it's so grainy, but there may be some kind of bonding connections there that span the insulator or some form of splice. That said, there are a number of different devices I see on the higher voltage lines around here, including some form of "fuses/breakers" as well as disconnects for when they want/need to change the routing of power to deal with damage or other maintenance needs.

Rod Sheridan
01-15-2013, 10:05 PM
Being an electrical engineer, I look at power lines. One thing I don't understand is that often on the high voltage lines, there as some devices hanging below the lines, on both sides of an insulator. Take a look at the following two pictures, the first which gives an overall view, and the second which is an enlarged section of the first picture to highlight those devices.

My question - perhaps to someone who works for a power company - is, "What the heck are those devices? And what do they do?"

Mike

Mike, those are Stockbridge Dampers, they reduce oscillations of the conductor, which results in fatigue failures where they are restrained by insulators..........Regards, Rod

Matt Meiser
01-15-2013, 10:09 PM
Ok, so what are the little triangle thingys that are sometimes seen on conductors in the middle between two poles?

Dick Latshaw
01-15-2013, 10:19 PM