PDA

View Full Version : Air assist compressor?

David Linahan
01-13-2013, 8:51 PM
Hi,
I'm still learning with my new 50w Zing 24. A question I do have is about the air assist. I find that using it can cause the residue to be blown down onto the project which often leaves a difficult to remove stain. I have occasionally forgotten the air assist and found the work to be cleaner..although if the material flares up it reminds me to turn it on. My compressor is a 16cfm unit I used for spray painting, and is quite noisy and power hungry...I am looking for a "smaller silent" one...but what output(cfm), is the minimum required for laser use? Many brands I see mentioned here are not readily available in Oz so I'll need to find one locally.

Thanks...Dave.

Joe Pelonio
01-13-2013, 9:40 PM
The CFM is not important with the small tube, it just needs 20 lbs pressure +-. I use a very quiet airbrush pump
that cost less than $100 and it's lasted 5 years with no problems. It's actually quieter than my exhaust fan. Check to see if the driver for that model allows you to engrave bottom up, so the debris blows away from the lettering.
Mine does not. Also, I never use air assist to engrave end never have any flareups, when cutting I use it but have no issues with debris since I almost always apply transfer tape prior to cutting, especially red Rowmark.

Rich Harman
01-13-2013, 11:34 PM
It might make a difference that the Zing uses an air assist "curtain".

Mike Lysov
01-15-2013, 8:41 PM
Hi,