PDA

View Full Version : Compressor Foolishness

Mike OMelia
01-10-2013, 12:48 AM
I thought maybe I would not post this. Like anybody, I don't like being thought of as stupid. But, if it keeps one person safe, it's worth my dignity.

I decided to add a new dryer and regulator to my 60 gallon tank. Meant pulling various fittings etc. Tank was at 100 psi so I pulled the release valve. When it got to about 40 psi I started to loosen the quick release connector. When it came off, the tank released faster, of course. Then stopped at about 35 psi. Huh? I walked around the front to take a look, thinking I was doing something wrong. Then, it released again, shooting ice at me.

I'm an engineer and understand a adiabatic cooling. Guess I dropped common sense for a moment. No harm or foul. But I'm glad I did not look into the hole! The vapor in the tank would freeze at the exit point and create a blockage, then melt and blow out the crystals.

Oh well, stupid mistakes can sometimes help others not make stupid mistakes.

Be safe,

Mike

Bill Bixby
01-10-2013, 1:08 AM
As someone whos only been into woodworking for a couple of years, these posts are always very helpful to me. Thanks for taking the time to do it.

Mike OMelia
01-10-2013, 1:33 AM
There is an old party trick we used to do with CO2 fire extinguishers. Blow them into a large trash bag. It will create dry ice. After that first experience, it stopped 2-3 more times. All I did was wait, and it would blow out and continue. Ice crystals at that pressure can penetrate your skin. Luckily, I was fully covered. I think the moral is, when something unexpected happens, stop, think.

Steve Rost
01-10-2013, 7:19 AM
Mike, thanks for the heads up!!! I have a portable compressor and seldom use it. When I do I always drain it. I never keep it pressurized. It will do the same, just never thought about it.

Jeff Duncan
01-10-2013, 10:17 AM