PDA

View Full Version : Thought I'd share this over here with ya'll

Jim Hager
04-28-2005, 8:36 PM
I check in with you guys from time to time but haven't gotten in the habit of posting on this forum so I thought I'd give it a try.

I am a teacher in a jr. high school in an agricultural mechanics and science program. We recently completed this project during classes and used some of our newest technology in the shop.
http://a7.cpimg.com/image/9B/C2/47256987-a7b3-02000180-.jpg

This garden bench was built for a retiring band director that has years of experience teaching kids music. His favorite tune happens to be "Just a closer walk with thee" according to his wife. We cut out the measure of music with a plasma arc cnc table that we recently acquired in our shop. The machine is called "Plasma Cam" and is a real challenge for this ole dog to learn and get up to speed on it for the students. This project was fun and challenging for me. Now I've made plenty a garden bench but never one with plate steel cut out into a measure of music.

Ya'll tell me what you think. Be kind now.

Dale Thompson
04-28-2005, 9:00 PM
Jim,
I can't think of a nicer gift for a retiring music instructor! :) It is beautifully done. By the way, do the notes represent the first bar of "Just a Closer Walk With Thee"? I think you answered that in your post but I don't know a "measure" from a "sonata". I haven't read music for years but the design sort of looks like it is. If I was a music major, I wouldn't have to ask such a dumb question. :o

Dale T.

Lars Thomas
04-28-2005, 9:02 PM
Outstanding work. I really like the mixed media. That bench will be a constant reminder for the retiring teacher of the good times enjoyed at your school. Lars

Alan Turner
04-28-2005, 9:06 PM
Very nice, and quite thoughtful. Is the steel powder coated so it can handle the garden? Looks like it, but I have a poor monitor at home so can't really tell.

Peter Dufresne
04-28-2005, 9:08 PM