PDA

View Full Version : Rip Blade hit 2 screws. Seems OK. But must have been effected?

Don Morris
01-07-2013, 6:02 PM
I was given a 12/4 square piece of cherry 5' long by my neighbor which had been sitting on a back table for over 20 years. There was so much oxide on it I couldn't tell it from some poplar he also gave me until I face jointed it. To make a long story short... I it hit 2 screws. Blade seems OK, but I'm no expert on how sharp a blade it my rubbing my finger over it. Or is it axiomatic: hit a couple screws...send it in for resharpening?

HANK METZ
01-07-2013, 6:36 PM
If the screws were hardened, you're in for trouble, if mild steel you may have dodged a bullet, if brass no worries. Carbide tips used in metalwork such as cutoff saws are a special grade able to withstand what's called an "interrupted cut", hard to say what yours is, but if it wanders in a normal cut, you did some damage.

- Beachside Hank
Improvise, adapt, overcome; the essence of true craftsmanship.

john lawson
01-07-2013, 6:40 PM
Just check the blade carefully for chipping.

If a couple of teeth are chipped, but not too badly, rip a piece of wood and check the cut. If the cut is ok your good to go.

I have hit a lot of nails and few screws. I'm about 50/50 on ruining the blades. Many times it has little effect.

Lewis Ehrhardt
01-07-2013, 9:21 PM
I would NOT use it again. I hit something similar a few weeks ago with a Diablo blade. Five of the carbide tips came off a few cuts later, cutting me up pretty good. I was glad I was wearing glasses and even though I had a long sleeved flannel shirt, it still cut me on the arm. Felt like someone shooting me with a pellet gun.

Don Morris
01-08-2013, 6:57 AM
I cut the pieces of wood with the screws to retrieve them. I took a hacksaw to one and was able to relatively easily cut into it. Does that make it a non hardened screw?