PDA

View Full Version : Need input on creating this laminated coffee table base

Chris Merriam
12-31-2012, 9:59 PM
My next project is going to be a coffee table. We've settled on this design from Restoration Hardware. The trick is their table is actually made out of metal: an iron base and a sheet metal top. I want to make the whole thing out of wood (currently thinking walnut).

I've never done bent lamination before, been reading plenty about it, but thought I'd throw this out for any opinions before I seriously get started. You can see that each leg of the base is basically two U-shapes. Well, one's a "u" and one's an "n" I guess.

I was thinking of laminating each piece like this: /````\ there'd be a couple inches completely flat, then the curves would kick in. Then I would glue up two of the u-shaped pieces (along the flat edge) to form one leg of the table.

Do you think the curves are doable via lamination? Do you think the leg will be strong enough?

In the pic below I imported the design into sketchup and did my best to get valid measurements of key dimensions (like the height and radius of the curves).

Thanks for any input!249766

Jerry Miner
12-31-2012, 10:57 PM
Hi Chris---

I've done a fair amount of bent lamination and I think this project looks quite do-able. The radii look fairly tight, so you will want pretty thin layers. Prep a piece or two and see how easily it conforms to your form. Err on the side of thinner pieces. And don't forget about springback.

Strength won't be an issue at all, as I see it. You will need to create some rigidity between the leg sections.
Overall, it looks like a good project for an introduction to bent lamination. Have fun and good luck.

Chris Merriam
12-31-2012, 11:35 PM