PDA

View Full Version : My version of a Outboard Turning Setup

Greg Bender
12-30-2012, 4:55 PM
I had some time off for the holidays so I got a chance to finish my version of a outboard turning setup for my Jet 16/42. I have about $80 in it which was the cost of the 3520A banjo. I did all the machining and had just about all the material needed. I plasma cut the flat plate out of a 50" by 50" piece of 1/2" steel plate so I picked up some ballast weight to boot.249563249564249565249566
This is my first attempt at a post like this so it is kind of jumbled but you can get the basic premise of the idea. If you have any questions I can answer them with alot more finesse. Comments are always welcome .Greg

Greg Just
12-30-2012, 5:16 PM
Nice set up and something the average person couldn't do, but you have the right tools. I can't tell from the picture, but are those wood legs helping with support? I would think you might get some vibration without legs. Nice job.

Greg Bender
12-30-2012, 5:24 PM
Greg,
they are some temporary maple legs. Now that I know the dimensions I will weld some square tubing with adjustable feet and that will be the final step. The end of the lathe was not perpendicular to the floor so I had to shim behind the attachment points and at that point had to have legs to support it.
Thanx,
Greg

Marc Himes
12-30-2012, 5:35 PM
Looks Like it should work especially when you have the legs attached. Have you used it yet?

Steve Schlumpf
12-30-2012, 5:51 PM
Looks like it should work just fine! You will have to let us know - once you try it out!! Good luck!

Bob Bergstrom
12-30-2012, 5:51 PM