PDA

View Full Version : First NIP

Bob Rotche
12-30-2012, 2:32 PM
I picked up a couple pieces of Norfolk Island Pine at the Virginia Woodturners Symposium this year and this is my first attempt. Couldn't go for the classic star figure as the branches weren't all in the same plane so ended up with this vase form. It is 8" wide by 6" tall and 1/8-3/16 thick. Soaked it in 50:50 BLO and mineral spirits for 24 hours in and 24 out for about 2 weeks. There are a few areas of translucence but not much due to the heavy spalting, though that did yield some pretty dramatic figure. C+C appreciated as always.

2nd piece was turned much thinner and was able to get the star pattern. It is in the finishing process and will be posted soon.

Leo Van Der Loo
12-30-2012, 2:37 PM
I've always liked the looks of NIP, though never turned any myself, and again here just a beautiful piece you turned from NIP, thanks for showing this piece of eye candy :D

Allan Ferguson
12-30-2012, 3:11 PM
Really like this. Wow!

Sid Matheny
12-30-2012, 3:19 PM
WOW says it all. Just wonderful!!!

Sid

George Barber
12-30-2012, 3:44 PM
Just stunning!

Greg Ketell
12-30-2012, 3:52 PM
Very pretty! Love the shape and the wood is beautiful!

Jim Burr
12-30-2012, 3:58 PM
Wow!! No dye, coloring or anything? Great chunk of wood and a sweet form Bob!

Faust M. Ruggiero
12-30-2012, 4:06 PM
Your thin walled turning skills look really good but the dyes look amazing.
faust

Michelle Rich
12-30-2012, 4:19 PM
A#1!!!!!!!

Bob Rotche
12-30-2012, 5:24 PM
Thanks all for the kind comments. Faust, I only wish I could dye wood like that. It is all natural spalting.

Marc Himes
12-30-2012, 5:39 PM
Fantastic piece Bob! The wood is spectacular and the form is great too. Did the soaking make it a lot darker, or was it pretty dark to begin with. It really looks nice.

Steve Schlumpf
12-30-2012, 5:40 PM
Bob - beautiful work! Love the form, the variety of colors and the translucence! Was well worth the extra effort!