PDA

View Full Version : tools needed for plane making

Matthew N. Masail
12-30-2012, 5:02 AM
ok, so this is the deal... I find krenov style planes very comfortable, but have lot's of respect for a plane made out of a single block of wood.
so I want to stop the laminating and get serious. I'll probably made a Krenov shape, but it will be a solid block.

the problems:
1. I want to use very heavy woods, bloodwood is on the top of my list. I like heft in my planes.
2. I have little "truing tools" like floats and such
3. tight budget.
4. I'm a total novice...

this is what I have:
- a good set of white steel chisels
- a 1/2 inch narex mortise chisel
- Japanese file that I don't find very effective.
- a will to produce superior tools.

my question to you is - what tools should I get first?

Metod Alif
12-30-2012, 11:04 AM
Matthew,
Here is a 'contrarian' suggestion, provided that you are not in a rush: Start chopping out the the cavity for the iron. When you hit a 'dead end' with your existing tools, think what tool would come handy for the next step. Get the tool. Repeat.
My guess is that many tools were invented this way.
Best wishes,
Metod

David Keller NC
12-30-2012, 11:11 AM
It's possible to produce a very well made, traditional solid-block wooden plane with the tools that you have with 2 additions:

A small mortise chisel for cutting the mouth of the plane - Lie-Nielsen sells a 1/10" width mortise chisel that's made to Larry William's design (of Clark and Williams fame, now Old Street Tools). You don't absolutely have to have this, as you can drill out the mouth opening with a small drill bit, then true up the opening with a file or a rasp. But this isn't an easy thing to do, and cutting the mouth opening with a mortise chisel is far easier.